Come again?

So, normally, I would not write a blog about a blog or referring back to a blog with any great detail but today, I must.  See, I received some pretty crazy messages about my blog the other day… ‘Who’s Seat Is This?’  (If you haven’t read that one, you may want to first)  I was surprised, not only that this particular subject raised so many questions to begin with, but some of the suggestions that followed.

My morning started out as this…

I woke up, instantly feeling ‘different’.  I knew, this was NOT going to be an ordinary day.  I couldn’t get this recent blog out of my head, nor some of the suggestions, such as, “Don’t go this Sunday!”, “Switch seats every Sunday”, “Just sit where you are comfortable” and “People know where to find you that way, Angie”.   My thoughts were that by doing all this random stuff to stand out would be doing ANYTHING but making it about God, rather about me, which is exactly what I was trying to avoid in the first place.

I was also struggling with some feelings I had been having on the whole judgement subject.  I was so frustrated when a friend of mine expressed that “Christians are her main problem with church.”  It was something, I simply was not sure how to address as I knew it was an honest concern and one that from her experience, was justified.  I decided that I was not going to hop straight into the shower, but go downstairs, have a cup of coffee and get my thoughts together.  It was funny because I had literally just woken up yet felt like I was about ready to jump out of my own skin.  I said a prayer for God to assist me and headed downstairs.

I sat down to my cup of coffee and pulled up my Facebook page.  There were tons of random comments and I skimmed through the latest posts liking a couple here and there.  A video caught my eye of people who were flying on a large airline breaking into song together.  I couldn’t help smiling at the peoples faces that were obviously not planning on joining in, no matter what the song was.  Surprisingly, by the end of the video, however, almost then entire flight was singing.  It was so entertaining. The replay option came up along with a handful off other related videos.  One seemed completely out-of-place.  It’s title was, ‘ Heroin Addict Prays For A Miracle- You Will Not Believe What Happens After That!’  Seriously, that’s the title.  Well, I just HAD to see what happened after that!  Not only was I shocked at this video but I couldn’t stop crying.  I just could not get a grip.  I felt God, not pulling at my heart, but tearing at it.  It was as if He was saying to me, “Bigger things are out there… ” and “I only look at your heart when I see you.”

By the time I got a grip, I was late.  VERY late!  I ran upstairs, took a shower, threw on the first thing out of my closet, brushed some color on my eyes, shooshed the kids out to the car and out the door I went!

When I got to the church, I was horribly late and ran through the doors saying quickly, “Hello, hi, hello”…  My frantic glances landed on a familiar, yet not recently seen face.  It was Greg Norris, the father/dad of our most recently sent out missionary family.   I was so excited to see him that everything else seemed to not even matter.  (Don’t let it go to your head, Greg.  We just love you that much. haha)  I suddenly didn’t even care that I was late.  I visited with him all through worship, keeping an eye out for my friend.  When we heard people doing announcements, I stepped in to be seated before I became a total disruption!

Logically, I should sit where I know my friend will find me, right?  Yes…  but… Thinking of my post and all the suggestions and comments that followed it, I stood along the wall, looking to see if I could spot my friend, or empty seats that didn’t require me to cross the entire sanctuary to get there.  One blog reading friend of mine, sitting just seats away raised her eyebrow up at me, and smirked.  She new EXACTLY what I was thinking about.  Her suggestion flashed through my mind. “Angie, you sit there because it is where you are able to focus; don’t make it difficult.  It got you thinking, that is good, but don’t read more into it than what is really there. Maybe God truly just wanted you to be reminded that no matter what others think, you need to know whose seat you’re sitting in.”  Knowing she was quite amused by my discomfort, I told my feet to move.  Glancing, to the closest open seats, I realized I would be sitting exactly where I normally sit!  I looked back to my friend, my heart racing and she literally giggled at me! GIGGLED!!  I envisioned myself thumping her right on the forehead.  It was as if she read my mind and I could see her whole body shaking with mirth.  I could feel myself relaxing.  Realizing what an idiot I was making of myself, I swiftly moved toward the seats… yes… God’s seats.

Now, as I neared the seats,  I looked down and to my surprise, my dear friend and her husband who never sit up in the front were seated right next to the seats that I was preparing to occupy!  Also, there were new faces that I had never seen before seated on the other side and faces I recognized but couldn’t name right behind me.  Have I mentioned that God has a sense of humor?  It was like God was saying, “I’ve got the change covered, you just worry about where your heart is.  Oh, and P.S., quit being an idiot.”  I took a deep breath.

Our pastor began his sermon and went directly into a topic  that you wont believe he went to!  The topic was the fact that people are not afraid of Jesus but Christians who make them feel worse than they already do about their lives.  Seriously!… I know!…   Every single song lyric, scripture, and prayer hit me to the fullest extent.  I quietly cried in God’s seat, listening to God’s word, feeling God’s love… and I wasn’t even distracted once!  Immediately following the service, a close friend of mine headed straight for me and shared distressing news about his wife and was seeking prayer.  He didn’t have to search for me.  God is good!

So, there you have it.  That is what happened to me today.  I probably wont recap many blogs in the future, so don’t worry.  This one just seemed unfinished and now it is!

It is so hard for words to make it into our hearts to start with…  Don’t let them just slip right back out.  Here are links to directly connect you to this message…

Norris Family Missions http://www.n5forhim.com/

Heroin Addict Prays For A Miracle http://www.godvine.com/Heroin-Addict-Prays-to-God-for-a-Miracle-Watch-What-Happens-994.html

Sermon http://www.redmondcc.org/    (Todays sermon will not be on there until Tuesday, most likely but if you click on Media and then Audio, you will get the sermons leading up to this one.)

Enjoy!
Angie 🙂

Leave a Reply

